State laws very as to when the franchise registration
expire.  Some states only require a one-time
filings or exemptions.  Other state franchise
registrations and exemptions must be renewed yearly. 

Annual Filing Required One Time Filing Required
   
California Connecticut
Florida Georgia
Hawaii Kentucky
Illinois Louisiana
Indiana Maine
Maryland Nebraska
Michigan *North
Carolina
*South
Carolina
Minnesota Texas
New York  
North Dakota  
Utah  
Rhode Island  
South Dakota  
Virginia  
Washington  
Wisconsin  

* South
Carolina and North Carolina allow for an exemption if franchisor has a
federally registered trademark and franchisee do not purchase products from
franchisor for re-sale. 

Federal law requires that all franchisors update their
franchise disclosure document (FDD) 120 days from the close of their fiscal
year.  For franchisors with a fiscal year
that follow a calendar year ending December 31st, the FDD must be
updated by April 30th


Not all states, if fact most states registrations and exemptions don’t follow the Federal April 30th date. 

Not all states, if fact most states registrations and exemptions
don’t follow the Federal April 30th date. 

There are only 6 state: California, Hawaii, New York,
Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota follow the federal rule and expire 120
days from the close of the fiscal year (April 30th).

Expiration 120 Days from Close of Fiscal
Year (April 30th)
Calendar Expiration (365 days)
   
** California Florida

Hawaii

Indiana
Illinois Maryland
New York Michigan
Minnesota Utah
North Dakota Rhode Island
South Dakota Virginia
  Washington
  Wisconsin
   
   

*
California registration action Expires April 20th (10 days early)


Not all states, if fact most states registrations and exemptions don’t follow the Federal April 30th date. 

 

There are 10 state that follow a calendar year expiration:  Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan,
Utah, Rhode Island, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin.

The quandary becomes post April 30th, Federal Law
requires an update of the FDD.  However,
what if the state registration has not expired. 
The state prohibits giving prospective franchisees the updated FDD until
it has been register with the state. 
But, giving prospective franchisees last year’s FDD that is registered
with the state is violation of Federal law. 

Source: franchise blaw

When does not State Registration or Exemption Expire?
Tagged on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: